Success Stories

Souleymane
Moumouni

Souleymane Moumouni, from the small village Falmey, works as a nurse in our children's house in Maradi/Niger. He knows exactly how much the little patients suffer - because Souleymane himself contracted noma as a small child. The bacteria ate a deep hole next to his nose. "Never in my life will I forget how much it hurt when first my skin, then the flesh and then the bone underneath decomposed." says Souleymane. "The pain was so sharp and burning, I was sure this is what dying felt like." Souleymane was operated on with the help of donations. And at the time, he was determined to give back some of the help and compassion he'd received at the clinic. "I want to help the Noma children - the way I was helped."

Uma Bodjam

Nobody would have thought that Uma from Guinea-Bissau would ever make it this far. The girl fell seriously ill with noma at the age of four. The disease eroded her lower jaw and parts of her mouth. Uma could only eat in pain. For many years Uma had to live with her severe disfigurement - there were no doctors in Guinea-Bissau who could treat noma. After the construction of our noma hospital in Bissau, we could finally help the girl: Uma underwent a total of four operations. Today the seriously ill little girl has become a happy young woman. The 16-year-old has now started her training as a hairdresser in Bissau. At the same time she continues to go to school. Uma's boss Tanta de Barros is very impressed by the work of her apprentice.

Amari Soilemi

Amari from Niger was brought to our children's home in Tahoua by her bitterly poor parents when the noma had already eaten a deep hole in her little face. Neither mother nor father had heard of the disease, they did not know what had happened to their girl. Amari was first brought back to a healthy weight. As soon as she was strong enough, she was taken to the noma hospital in Niamey. The team of doctors around Austrian plastic surgeon Dr. Harald Kubiena operated on the little one during an surgical campaign and closed the terrible noma wound. The scars have now healed well. Today little Amari can laugh again!

This is how you can help children with noma!

Every support counts.

Donations

Every amount helps to give noma children back their smile.

Get engaged

Inform others about the disease noma and request information material from us.

Become a partner

Become a part of our organisation and support us locally.

Follow us

Stay up to date:

Gift a smile to children with noma!

Your donations give hope to seriously ill children.
Examples of how your donations will be used:

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consetetur sadipscing elitr, sed diam nonumy eirmod tempor temporal invidunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqu

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

15€

With 15 € we can buy strengthening food for our small, weak patients

Donate now
30€

30 € help us to buy painkillers and wound disinfection

Donate now
50€

50 € can finance a new set of surgical instruments, including scissors and clamps

Donate now

Erfolgsgeschichten

Souleymane
Moumouni

Souleymane Moumouni aus dem kleinen Dorf Falmey arbeitet als Krankenpfleger in unserem Kinderhaus in Maradi/Niger. Er weiß ganz genau, wie sehr die kleinen Patienten leiden – denn Souleymane erkrankte als kleines Kind selbst an Noma. Die Bakterien frassen ein tiefes Loch neben seine Nase. „Niemals in meinem Leben werde ich vergessen, wie sehr es wehgetan hat, als sich erst meine Haut, dann das Fleisch und dann der Knochen darunter zersetzt hat.“ berichtet Souleymane. „Der Schmerz hat so sehr gebrannt und gestochen; ich war sicher, dass sich so Sterben anfühlt.“ Souleymane wurde mit der Hilfe von Spendengeldern operiert. Und damals hat er sich fest vorgenommen, ein wenig von der Hilfe und dem Mitgefühl zurückzugeben, dass er in der Klinik erfahren hat. „Ich möchte den Noma-Kindern helfen – so wie mir geholfen wurde.“

Uma Bodjam

Niemand hätte gedacht, dass Uma aus Guinea-Bissau es einmal soweit bringen würde. Das Mädchen erkrankte als Vierjährige schwer an Noma. Die Krankheit zerfrass ihren Unterkiefer und Teile ihres Mundes, Uma konnte nur unter Schmerzen essen. Viele Jahre musste Uma mit ihrer schweren Entstellung leben – in Guinea-Bissau gab es keine Ärzte, die Noma behandeln konnten. Nach dem Bau unseres Noma-Krankenhauses in Bissau konnten wir dem Mädchen endlich helfen: Uma wurde insgesamt vier Mal operiert. Heute ist aus dem so schwer kranken kleinen Mädchen eine fröhliche junge Frau geworden. Die 16-jährige hat nun in Bissau ihre Ausbildung zur Friseurin begonnen. Nebenbei geht sie weiterhin zu Schule. Umas Chefin Tanta de Barros ist von der Arbeit ihres Lehrlings sehr angetan.

Amari Soilemi

Amari aus Niger wurde von ihren bitterarmen Eltern in das Kinderhaus von Tahoua gebracht, als die Noma bereits ein tiefes Loch in ihr kleines Gesicht gefressen hatte. Weder Mutter noch Vater hatten von der Krankheit gehört, sie wussten nicht, was mit ihrem Mädchen geschah. Amari wurde mit Aufbaunahrung aufgepäppelt. Sobald sie kräftig genug war, wurde die Kleine in das Noma-Krankenhaus nach Niamey gebracht. Das Ärzte-Team um den österreichischen Arzt Dr. Harald Kubiena operierte die Kleine während einer OP-Kampagne und verschloss die schreckliche Noma-Wunde. Die Narben sind mittlerweile gut verheilt. Heute kann die kleine Amari wieder lachen!

So können Sie Noma-Kindern helfen!

Jede Unterstützung zählt.

Spenden

Jeder Betrag hilft dabei, Noma-Kindern ihr Lächeln zurückzugeben.

Aktiv werden

Informieren Sie andere über die Krankheit Noma und fordern Sie Infomaterial bei uns an.

Partner werden

Werden Sie Teil unserer Hilfsorganisation und unterstützen Sie uns vor Ort.

Folgen Sie uns

Immer auf dem neusten Stand:

Schenken Sie Noma-Kindern ein Lächeln!

Ihre Spenden-Hilfe gibt schwer kranken Kindern die Hoffnung zurück.
Wofür wir Ihre Spende zum Beispiel verwenden:

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consetetur sadipscing elitr, sed diam nonumy eirmod tempor invidunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqu

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

15€

Mit 15 € können wir stärkende Aufbaunahrung für unsere kleinen, schwachen Patienten kaufen

Jetzt spenden
30€

30 € helfen bei der Anschaffung von Schmerzmitteln und Wunddesinfektion

Jetzt spenden
50€

50 € können ein neues
OP-Besteck-Set mit Scheren und Klemmen finanzieren

Jetzt spenden